Williams: We’ll be back next year

Williams also regretted the fact that United were not awarded a first-half spot-kick when her team-mate Nikita Parris was grounded in the area, with the referee ruling that the initial challenge occurred just outside the box.

However, the 35-year-old was philosophical in the end, commenting: “You win some, you lose some. And it wasn’t our day to get that penalty today.

“But the girls have been absolutely brilliant today. We couldn’t ask for any more from anyone. The girls, the staff, absolutely everyone, and the fans here today.

“We’re absolutely gutted we couldn’t bring the trophy home. But like I said, we’ll definitely be back next year.”

Adblock test

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *