Player of the Year: Six candidates with a case

Adam Marshall

There is a reason why Marcus Rashford is probably a strong favourite to win the award for the first time: the livewire forward has enjoyed surely his best-ever season since breaking into the United team.

From the moment he scored the eventual winner against arch-rivals Liverpool in August, he has terrorised defences with his pace and direct approach, whether playing on the left or down the middle.

It would be fitting if he can break the 30-goal barrier (he’s one short at present) and he has contributed so much more, assisting his colleagues and generally becoming the main threat in Erik ten Hag’s side, looking sharp and focused.

We’ve grown accustomed to seeing his iconic goal celebration and, at key times in the campaign, Rashford has come up clutch, such as in the Nou Camp against Barcelona, the Carabao Cup final at Wembley and notching the sweetest of derby winners against Manchester City. He hit a real purple patch at Old Trafford, scoring in nine consecutive home games to equal Dennis Viollet’s record, set in 1959.

Marcus is bidding to become the first homegrown recipient of the award since 1997/98, when Ryan Giggs collected the Sir Matt Busby trophy, and only the fourth since its inception with Mark Hughes and David Beckham also among the victors. It would take a brave person to bet against it happening.


2021/22: Cristiano Ronaldo
2020/21: Bruno Fernandes
2019/20: Bruno Fernandes
2018/19: Luke Shaw
2017/18: David De Gea

Vote for the 2022/23 award here now and look out for the result on Monday 29 May.

Adblock test

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *